I Am Reading…………………..

It is done!

I have just finished “World Without End”, it took me a bit longer than anticipated as I went through a bad reading patch and hardly had time to read for 2 weeks. As with “Pillars of the Earth” you hardly notice that you have just read 1237 pages!

It is a comfortable (except for the size of it), easy read. It captures your attention from the start and keeps you enthralled through wars, deceit, scheming and conniving, double-dealing, love, death, betrayal and in fact there is hardly a human frailty that is not exposed. It has believable, lovable characters, and a few you really dispise!

In short an excellent read if you are not put off by the size/volume.

I have just begun – “Lost Ground” a thriller by Michiel Heyns. I am enjoying the fact we now have thrillers in local settings. (Love a good thriller!)

image via cardsandstuff.canalblog.com 

I have read a number of another thriller author, Deon Meyer’s books, which are set in South Africa, notably  Cape Town and surrounds. I  find the fact I that can identify with the settings, and in fact know some of the places in his books quite well adds to the plausibility of his stories.

I am looking forward to getting into “Lost Ground” which is set in the Little Karoo, one of my favourite parts of the country.

This entry was posted in The Library. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

