Aaaah Figs…….

When I was little we lived on a small holding which abounded with fruit trees. My memories of fruit always involve biting into ripe, sun-warmed bursts of flavour picked straight from the tree – no pesticides, just pure straight from nature goodness.

We had 2 enormous old fig trees and it was always a race to beat the birds to the ripe figs. I always associate figs with long, hot summer days, helping my mother and grandmother to make the world’s most delicious preserved figs and fig jam (recipes which I wish I now had) and figs, home made bread and cheese lunches on the lawn.

I love beautiful, fragrant, plump, ripe figs with their exotic colours, which bring far away lands with evocative names to mind ……….. roll on summer.

This entry was posted in Closet Romantic, Gallimaufry, I Would Love......, Treasures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

