Hyper-realism #3

Alyssa Monks

Another of my favourite Hyper-realists, Alyssa Monks.

“When I began painting the human body, I was obsessed with it and needed to create as much realism as possible. I chased realism until it began to unravel and deconstruct itself. Realism and Abstraction are in a symbiotic relationship – they need each other to exist and eventually become the same.”

Bed  –  2003

Morning After – 2004

Welcome To  –  2005

Porcelain –  2006

Weight  –  2007

Brothers  –  2007

Lips  –  2008

Laughing Girl  –  2009

Fixation – 2010

Tell  –  2011

I have selected a piece from each year to give an overview of her body of work. She has an extensive body of work which can be viewed on her website.

I do not feel at liberty to comment on her work, other than to say it moves me and I find it hard not to keep coming back to each piece to re-examine it and admire the skill with which she uses her medium and the dialogue she subtly creates with the viewer.

put your cursor on the image for the source

This entry was posted in They speak with pictures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

