Michael Carson # 3

This is my last post on Michael Carson, and I think I have saved the best ’til last.

These paintings are beautiful in their perfectly balanced positive and negative space, the subtlety of colour, texture  and tone, the wonderful, intuitive use and understanding of the medium and the masterful use of ‘suggestion’.

I have loved discovering his work. The first paintings that I saw  were fun, and his bold, extravagant brush strokes and lavish application of paint drew me. He also seemed to be  influenced by a number of other painters and drew a lot of his imagery from them.

Then, out of all this experimentation emerged this wonderful fresh inspirational style. These paintings are deceptive in their simplicity and economy, each one is mesmerising and draws you back to look at it again and again.

I am now a Michael Carson Fan.

This entry was posted in They speak with pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

