It’s That Cake a Month Thing Again………..

FEBRUARY

Cream Cheese Cake with Almonds

This is a bit of a fiddly cake to bake as it has 3 different layers, but, it is made  with a ‘box’ mixture so is quick and easy. I am not too precious about using ‘box’ mixtures as long as they are tried and tested. I only use Ina Paarmans mixtures as they are absolutely delicious and do not taste ‘boxed’

I am providing the link to this recipe as it is too long to post and there is also a video on the link.

MARCH

Zingy Orange Carrot Cake with White Chocolate Icing

A mouthful of a name and a delicious mouthful of a cake. An easy cake with a lovely twist of ginger flavouring (I love ginger!). The only thing I would change is the icing, I only used 1 and a half cups of sugar and it was still far too sweet for my taste, and, to be honest I prefer cream cheese as a carrot cake topping.

I have linked to Rosie Alyea’s Sweetapolita blog where I found this recipe, it is a fun blog with tons of deliciousness just waiting to be baked.

APRIL

Pistachio and Apricot Cake

In the immortal words of Crocodile Dundee “now, this is a cake!” (he actually referred to a knife, but no matter).

This has to be one of the most glorious cakes I have baked. It looks magnificent and tastes delicious. The verdict on this one was a resounding……..’when are you going to make it again?’

This cake is a bit of a fiddle but is worth every bit of effort. We do not get Chocolate flavoured Cream Cheese here, nor could I find chocolate flavouring/essence, so, I melted white chocolate and added it to the cream cheese.

I have linked to the recipe on The Tasteful Life blog which is chock a block full of wonderful foods and ideas.

3 Wonderful cakes and I am still  one  behind! A big bake up this weekend, when it gets cold I love baking, it makes the whole house seems warmer, cosier and full of wonderful aromas.

Bon Appetit

This entry was posted in A Pinch of........ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

