Here be Dragons…………………..

In honour of the year of the Dragon this weeks postings will be Dragonish.

Contrary to popular belief a Dragon is not just a Dragon, no, my word, I had that pointed out to me rather vociferously. So I will humbly introduce the main Dragon species (for those who are as ignorant as I was) and I will leave the subspecies and variations to the Dragonophiles.

This is a Black Dragon, the meanest and most feared of Dragons.

Two types of Green Dragon, must say if we were going on looks I would prefer to be roasted by the first one!

A White Dragon, a rather elegant and regal looking Dragon.

A Stone Dragon, I think this one could rival the Black Dragon for meanness!

A Sky Dragon, not sure if it spits fire or bad weather.

A Shadow Dragon, another rather creepy, scary looking one.

A Bronze Dragon, again rather a regal looking creature.

A Feathered Dragon, rather Pterodactylish.

An Elder Adamantine Dragon.

This is an Ice Dragon that freezes you rather than fries you!

The thing I love most about Dragons is the passion that the Dragonophiles have for their subject. They will go to great lengths to describe the habitat, physiology, diet, temperament, history, etc. of each of the Dragons in the extensive species catalogue. This is such a wonderful exploration of imagination, fantasy and creativity.

The internet is a treasure trove of Dragons and Dragon facts and fiction so, if you are titillated by this humble introduction……….go forth and seek ye Dragons.

This entry was posted in Encounters with Giants, Gallimaufry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here be Dragons…………………..

  1. Rocket Dog (Ergo Proxy) says:

    You forgot Space Dragons!! They’re the “brain-children” of the whole dragon race! But it’s okay, nobody really knows about them…yet 😉

    I’m the writer of a space dragon poetry-magazine series called The Society On Da Run, and I just wanted to tell you about it. Right now it’s in ebook form but I’m starting a print magazine version of the series called “Dragons and Cicadas (The Society On Da Run)”. I hope you drop by my Smashwords page!

    Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/thedragongod

    Here’s a quick guide to speaking in Dragon computer language: http://thesocietyondarun.wordpress.com/2011/12/11/a-guide-to-speaking-in-dragon-number-tongue-language/

    and here are two songs crafted by Dragons: http://thesocietyondarun.wordpress.com/2011/12/11/dragon-concert-02-cosmolunch-cosmos-dragonsong/

    http://thesocietyondarun.wordpress.com/2011/12/14/dragon-concert-song-3-hemorrhage-lif3way-thomass-shrine-song/

    I hope you like it!

  2. Emily Holden says:

    Nice Dragons!

Leave a comment